Twitter Facebook Youtube

Di Grassi fastest in Second Practice Session

Lucas Di Grassi (ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport) was at the top of the timing sheet as the red flag came out with eight minutes of the session to go, after Simona De Silvestro (Amlin Andretti) crashed into the wall.

Whilst it was e.dams who dominated the first session of the day, it was ABT that dominated the second. After only six minutes, Di Grassi set the fastest time of 1:38.770, with team-mate Daniel Abt close behind. The time went unchallenged for most of the session until, with less than ten minutes of the thirty minute session to go, the Brazilian lowered the time to a 1:37.279.

Different teams ran different programmes throughout the session, and race simulations, which give slower laps, left the timing screen quiet through most of the session. It was as teams were beginning to start their qualifying runs that De Silvestro caused the end of the session, meaning we didn’t see times anywhere near those in the earlier session.

There were other problems in the pit lane. Problems rising from the first practice session left current champion Nelson Piquet Junior (NEXTEV TCR) without a car for much of the session, and a battery problem for Nick Heidfeld (Mahindra) kept him in the garage for most of the session too. Jacques Villeneuve (Venturi) was also unable to set a lap time.

Behind the ABT duo came Stephane Sarrazin, Antonio Felix Da Costa, and Nico Prost. Formula E rookie Nathaneal Berthon finished sixth, followed by Nick Heidfeld. Jean-Eric Vergne, Sebastien Buemi, and Robin Frijns, another Formula E new comer, round up the top ten.

Oliver Turvey finished ahead of team mate Piquet, who managed to complete one lap in the session. Bruno Senna, Sam Bird, Jerome D’Ambrosio, Loic Duval, and De Silvestro followed them.

Bethonie Waring |
Photo: FIA Formula E Media