Twitter Facebook Youtube

Rosenqvist snatches pole position for Season 3 finale in Montreal


The Swedish Mahindra Racing driver scored the fastest time in Super Pole, and will start in pole the last Formula E ePrix in Montreal, followed by Sam Bird (DS Virgin Racing) and Jean-Éric Vergne (Techeetah).

Felix Rosenqvist (Mahindra Racing) set pole position for the last Season 3 Formula E race in Montreal, after beating Sam Bird (DS Virgin Racing) in the Super Pole shoot-out.

Group 1 saw José María López (DS Virgin Racing), Sebastien Buemi (e.Dams Renault), Maro Engel (Venturi GP), Adam Carroll (Panasonic Jaguar Racing) and Loïc Duval (FF Dragon Racing) out on track.

López was fastest with 1:23.313, closely followed by Duval. Buemi only managed to be third from the first five drivers, after a lock-up cost him his chance for Super Pole, or even a top 10 grid position.

Group 2 featured Felix Rosenqvist (Mahindra Racing), Jerome D’Ambrosio (FF Dragon Racing), Mitch Evans (Panasonic Jaguar Racing), Tom Dillmann (Venturi GP) and Jean-Eric Vergne (Techeetah).

Rosenqvist, Vergne, Dillmann and D’Ambrosio beat López’ Group 1 time, dropping him down to fifth and leaving championship fighter Buemi already out of Super Pole in seventh, with 10 more cars to go out.

Group 3 sent out on track Antonio Felix Da Costa (MS Amlin Andretti), Oliver Turvey (Nextev NIO), Stéphane Sarrazin (Techeetah), Nelson Piquet Jr (Nextev NIO) and Robin Frijns (MS Amlin Andretti).

Da Costa was the first one to go for his 200kw lap, but only taking eigth. Piquet and Sarrazin moved up to fourth and fifth respectively, proving the best two drivers from this group.

Last to go out on track in Group 4 were Lucas Di Grassi (Abt Schaeffler), Nicolas Prost (e.Dams Renault), Nick Heidfeld (Mahindra Racing), Sam Bird (DS Virgin Racing) and Daniel Abt (Abt Schaeffler). Bird took first place in his 200kw attempt, Heidfeld got up to fourth and Di Grassi took fifth. This allowed them, together with Rosenqvist and Vergne to Superpole.

Di Grassi set 1:23.557, but Heidfeld improved more than half a second and moved up to the lead with 1:23.041. Vergne took advantage of the track and improved the record again to 1:22.769. But Rosenqvist did the same, and moved the benchmark to 1:22.344.

Bird was the last driver on track for Super Pole, after two smashing first sectors dropped back in the last one, and only managed to be second.

Rosenqvist took another pole-position and three points for the championship, despite he can only battle for third position – one point behind Bird, starting alongside him in front row, followed by Vergne, Heidfeld and Di Grassi.

Francisco Aure |


Images courtesy of FIA Formula E Media