Twitter Facebook Youtube

Frijns takes Blancpain GT Sprint Series title

Andretti Autosport Formula E driver Robin Frijns and Stuart Leonard have taken the Blancpain GT Sprint Series title, overturning an 11 point deficit to the #84 Mercedes-AMG duo of Maximilian Buhk and Franck Perera going into the final race.

Racing at the legendary Nurburgring, the Audi Team WRT pair capitalised on the misfortunes of others around them to steal the title, with the Belgian Audi Club Team WRT #5 of Marcel Fassler and Dries Vanthoor, the #2 of Will Stevens and Markus Winkelhock, and the #63 GRT Grasser Racing Team of Mirko Bortolotti and Christian Engelhart all in contention for the title at the deciding race, as well as the #84 Mercedes.

A flurry of pit stops, including a slow visit for the #84 saw him return to the track behind the #5, while Frijns and Leonard in the #17 Audi took advantage and the lead, leaving the duo equal on points with Fassler and Vanthoor but the latter ahead on countback.

However, the #5 was hit with a drive-through penalty for leaving the pit box with the fuel hose still attached, handing the title lead to the #17 of Frijns and Leonard.

Bortolotti and Engelhart recovered from a miserable qualifying to rise from 19th to fifth, but it was not enough to prevent Frijns and Leonard claiming the Sprint Series title at the final race.

Frijns’ future in Formula E is uncertain, with the Dutchman admitting that there is a possibility that he will not continue with the Andretti squad, but it is understood that he is a contender for Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler due to his Audi links.

Image courtesy of Freddie Jenner

About Topher Smith
Topher is an experienced and passionate Motorsport journalist with Formula E, Formula 1, GP2/F2, GP3 and IndyCar all on his resume. When he isn't at the trackside you can find him furthering his own capabilities and knowledge through his endless search for original ideas and material. Also plays league pool.