Twitter Facebook Youtube

Sanya E-Prix Facts and Figures

Last time out ABB Formula E returned to mainland China for the first time since 2015 to the city of Sanya on Hainan Island.

After having a slow start to the season, and languishing down in 11th in the championship, Jean-Eric Vergne finally got his championship defence back on track with his first victory of the season in Sanya. We now take a look at the facts and figures behind the days racing in Sanya.

Race facts

  • – Not only have we had six different winners in the first six races this season, but Oliver Rowland became the sixth different pole sitter this season (this is the first time that there have been six pole sitters in six races in a single season).
  • – With Lucas di Grassi being an unfortunate casualty of the Robin Frijns and Sebastien Buemi incident towards the end of the race and not being able to complete the race, it meant that no team has now completed every lap of the season so far. Only four drivers have a 100% record so far (Mitch Evans, Andre Lotterer, Daniel Abt and Oliver Turvey).
  • – For the first time in ABB Formula E, two drivers shared the most number of laps led, with Oliver Rowland and Jean-Eric Vergne both leading 18 of the 36 laps each.
  • – Oliver Rowland is the 24th different driver to finish in the top three in Formula E and the 15th to share the podium with Jean-Eric Vergne. The Frenchman has shared the podium with more drivers than anyone else.
  • – Coming into this weekend Sam Bird was championship leader, however he had a day to forget. For the first time since Moscow Season 1, Bird failed to finish any session in the top ten, and he eventually retired in the race after contact with Stoffel Vandoorne.

Overall Position changes

After starting from the pit lane due to a technical infringement in qualifying, Season 2 champion Sebastien Buemi had some work to do to keep any chance of a championship challenge alive. The Swiss driver had made up four positions by the end of Lap 1 and crossed the line in sixth place. However, a ten second penalty for causing a collision relegated Buemi to eighth, putting him more than 40 points behind championship leader Antonio Felix da Costa.

For the third race in a row, Mitch Evans has now gained ten places in the race, becoming only the third driver (after Lucas di Grassi and Jerome d’Ambrosio) to gain ten places in five or more races.

For the first time since Punta del Este Season 4, di Grassi did not finish higher than where he started. This ended an 11 race streak (which equalled the record set by Nico Prost in Season 2 and Season 3).

After getting into this second Super Pole of the season, Alexander Sims started in fifth, where he stayed until he was involved in an incident with Andre Lotterer, causing the BMW driver to retire for the second race in a row, and lose a total of 12 places.

Fastest Laps

DS Techeetah (1:09.065 - Vergne - Lap 35)

Panasonic Jaguar Racing (1:10.094 - Evans - Lap 28)

Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler (1:10.165 - di Grassi - Lap 28)

NIO Formula E Team (1:10.171 - Turvey - Lap 30)

Nissan e.dams (1:10.173 - Buemi - Lap 8)

Venturi Formula E Team (1:10.265 - Mortara - Lap 33)

Mahindra Racing (1:10.300 - d'Ambrosio - Lap 33)

BMW i Andretti Motorsport (1:10.333 - da Costa - Lap 28)

Envision Virgin Racing (1:10.491 - Frijns - Lap 33)

Geox Dragon (1:11.928 - Lopez - Lap 10)

HWA Racelab (1:12.042 - Paffett - Lap 8)

DS Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne was the only driver to set a lap under 70 seconds during the Sanya E-Prix. Vergne’s Fastest Lap was only his second in Formula E, with his first coming back in Monaco Season 1 (44 races ago). This is the longest gap between consecutive fastest laps.

If we remove Geox Dragon and HWA Racelab (both of whom had double retirements by Lap 13) we see that the other nine teams are separated by just over half a second, showing how close all the teams are. A statement supported by the fact that the top four in the team’s championship are separated by only two points. Also, for the first time in Formula E two teams are tied at the top of the championship.

Average Points Per Race

DS Techeetah became the fifth team to surpass 500 points in Formula E with their first double points finish in four races. Since they only joined at the start of Season 3, it seems only fair to compare the average points per race.

The five teams to have scored 500 points in Formula E are also the five team to have averaged over 10 points per race.

Renault e.dams (who left Formula E with an average 20.1 points per race) sit atop the table, with only Audi Sport Abt Scheffler (19.5 points per race) within touching distance.

Of the five teams to reach the 500-point milestone, DS Techeetah reached it in the third least number of races (30). Renault e.dams (23 E-Prixs) and Audi (26) achieved 500 points in their second and third season respectively, whereas Envision Virgin Racing (35) and Mahindra Racing (44) took into their fourth season.

Not only dd DS Techeetah score their 500th point in Sanya, but BMW i Andretti scored their 300th point and Mahindra their 600th point.

About Tom Bryan
Tom is a data analyst, who runs the @FormulaEStats twitter page, which gives a variety of facts and stats about the ABB Formula E Championship.