Twitter Facebook Youtube

Rome E-Prix Facts and Figures

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]Seven Pole sitters. Seven winners from seven teams. 13 points separating nine drivers. Can Formula E get any more unpredictable?

Panasonic Jaguar Racing’s Mitch Evans claimed the first Formula E victory for himself and his team after a race long battle with DS Techeetah’s Andre Lotterer. We now take a look at the facts and figures behind the days racing in Rome.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_text_separator title=”Race facts” title_align=”separator_align_left” color=”custom” accent_color=”#5da73c”][vc_column_text]

  • – With Maximilian Günther making his first Super Pole appearance for GEOX Dragon, there have been a record 18 drivers to make it into Super Pole this season, breaking the record of 17 from Season 3 and Season 4.
  • – The Rome E-Prix was the first Formula E race since Montreal Race 1 Season 3 where the order at the top of Qualifying Groups was the same as the finishing order in Super Pole.
  • – With the 17 laps that Andre Lotterer managed to lead to Rome, DS Techeetah have become the first team to lead 150 kilometres this season. Techeetah also became only the third Formula E team (after Renault and Audi) to have surpassed 600 kilometres led in Formula E, which is an achievement considering that this is only the team’s third season.
  • – Due the Red Flag causing a 45-minute delay in the race the Rome E-Prix became the longest ever Formula E race (1:33:51.140), eclipsing the previous record by over a quarter of an hour. The long stoppage also led to the race being the slowest ever, at an average speed of only 53.8 kph. The slowest race without a red flag was last season’s Santiago E-Prix at an average speed of 89.3 kph.
  • – The 18th position that Daniel Abt finished in is the lowest ever position that an Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler driver has been classified in. The previous lowest position was when Lucas di Grassi finished a lap down in 17th in last season’s opening race in Hong Kong.

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_text_separator title=”Overall Position changes” title_align=”separator_align_left” color=”custom” accent_color=”#5da73c”][rrj_bar_chart title=”” labels=”DAM;LYN;DIG;TUR;DIL;SIM;FRI;ROW;WEH;DAC;VER;EVA;VAN;BUE;BIR;ABT;LOT;PAF;MAS;LOP;GUN;MOR” datasets=”%5B%7B%22title%22%3A%22Overall%20Position%20Change%22%2C%22tooltips_format%22%3A%22%7Bd%7D%3A%20%7By%7D%22%2C%22values%22%3A%2211%3B9%3B6%3B5%3B5%3B5%3B4%3B4%3B4%3B2%3B2%3B1%3B1%3B1%3B1%3B-1%3B-1%3B-7%3B-11%3B-13%3B-14%3B-14%22%2C%22color%22%3A%22%230085ba%22%2C%22bar_bg%22%3A%22transparent%22%7D%5D” legend=””][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]Jerome d’Ambrosio is starting to become the king of recovery from a bad qualifying after he managed to haul his Mahindra into the points after starting down in a lowly 19th place. For the 34th time in his career (a Formula E record) the Belgian managed to finish above where he started.

For the first time in Formula E, 15 drivers managed to finish above where they started. The previous record of 14 was set in Race 1 in New York Season 3. This was also only the eighth Formula E race to see no driver finish in the position that they started in.

After all starting in the top ten, Maximilian Günther, Felipe Massa and Edoardo Mortara all failed to see the chequered flag, losing a combined 39 places. This is the first time that both Venturi drivers has lost 10 places in a race since Nick Heidfeld and Stephane Sarrazin in the last race of Season 1.

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_text_separator title=”How close is Formula E?” title_align=”separator_align_left” color=”custom” accent_color=”#5da73c”][rrj_bar_chart title=”” labels=”0-1;1-2;2-3;3-4;4-5;5-6;6-7;7-8;8+” datasets=”%5B%7B%22title%22%3A%22Winning%20Margin%22%2C%22tooltips_format%22%3A%22%7Bd%7D%3A%20%7By%7D%22%2C%22values%22%3A%2221%3B6%3B8%3B1%3B2%3B2%3B4%3B4%3B4%22%2C%22color%22%3A%22%23ed0000%22%2C%22bar_bg%22%3A%22transparent%22%7D%5D” cat_per=”75″ legend=””][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]Of the 52 Formula E races, 21 have a had a winning margin of less than a second, with Evans’ margin of victory of 0.979 seconds being only the 20th closest in Formula E.

Last season’s Rome E-Prix was won by a similar margin (0.970 seconds), making Rome only the third city after Paris and Montreal to have the first two races in a city won by less than a second.

Both of Season 3’s Monaco E-Prix and first Montreal E-Prix are the only Formula E race to share the same margin of victory, both having been won by 0.350 seconds.

The closest Formula E race was Season 2’s Mexico City E-Prix with Jerome d’Ambrosio beating Sebastien Buemi by 0.106 seconds (d’Ambrosio also won the second closest E-Prix, this season’s Marrakesh E-Prix). The largest margin of victory also came in Season 2 when Lucas di Grassi beat Sam Bird by 13.884 seconds at the Putrajaya E-Prix.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_text_separator title=”1000 for Audi” title_align=”separator_align_left” color=”custom” accent_color=”#5da73c”][rrj_bar_chart title=”” labels=”Audi; Renault; Virgin; Mahindra; Techeetah; Dragon; BMW; Venturi; NIO; Jaguar; Aguri; Nissan; HWA; Trull” stacked=”yes” stack_mode=”bars” datasets=”%5B%7B%22title%22%3A%22Season%201%22%2C%22tooltips_format%22%3A%22%7Bd%7D%3A%20%7By%7D%22%2C%22values%22%3A%22165%3B232%3B133%3B58%3B%3B171%3B119%3B53%3B152%3B%3B66%3B%3B%3B17%22%2C%22color%22%3A%22%2303dd00%22%2C%22bar_bg%22%3A%22transparent%22%7D%2C%7B%22title%22%3A%22Season%202%22%2C%22tooltips_format%22%3A%22%7Bd%7D%3A%20%7By%7D%22%2C%22values%22%3A%22221%3B270%3B144%3B105%3B%3B143%3B49%3B77%3B19%3B%3B32%3B%3B%3B0%22%2C%22color%22%3A%22%23c900db%22%2C%22bar_bg%22%3A%22transparent%22%7D%2C%7B%22title%22%3A%22Season%203%22%2C%22tooltips_format%22%3A%22%7Bd%7D%3A%20%7By%7D%22%2C%22values%22%3A%22248%3B268%3B190%3B215%3B156%3B33%3B34%3B30%3B59%3B27%3B%3B%3B%3B%22%2C%22color%22%3A%22%23efe300%22%2C%22bar_bg%22%3A%22transparent%22%7D%2C%7B%22title%22%3A%22Season%204%22%2C%22tooltips_format%22%3A%22%7Bd%7D%3A%20%7By%7D%22%2C%22values%22%3A%22264%3B133%3B160%3B138%3B262%3B41%3B24%3B72%3B47%3B119%3B%3B%3B%3B%22%2C%22color%22%3A%22%230085ba%22%2C%22bar_bg%22%3A%22transparent%22%7D%2C%7B%22title%22%3A%22Season%205%22%2C%22tooltips_format%22%3A%22%7Bd%7D%3A%20%7By%7D%22%2C%22values%22%3A%22102%3B%3B109%3B102%3B116%3B2%3B82%3B67%3B6%3B62%3B%3B62%3B22%3B%22%2C%22color%22%3A%22%23ed0000%22%2C%22bar_bg%22%3A%22transparent%22%7D%5D” cat_per=”75″ legend=””][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]As Formula One celebrated their 1000th race, Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler celebrated its 1000th Formula E points after Lucas di Grassi finished seventh in Rome.

Audi and Envision Virgin Racing are the only teams to have scored over 100 points in every Formula E season. With Virgin being the second highest current team in terms of points it will likely be the next team to pass the 1000 points marks, but this will likely not come until next season.

With Mitch Evans claiming Panasonic Jaguar Racing’s first Formula E victory, the team managed to pass 200 total points scored. Evans also managed to score his 150th point, meaning the Kiwi has scored 73% of the Jaguar’s total points. The only current driver with a higher percentage than Evans is Stoffel Vandoorne who has scored 82% of HWA Racelab’s points.

Lucas di Grassi who holds the record for the most points scored (669) has scored more points than all apart from three teams.

This is the first season where eight teams have managed to score over 60 points. Seeing there is still six races to go could HWA Racelab, NIO or GEOX Dragon reach this number?


About Tom Bryan
Tom is a data analyst, who runs the @FormulaEStats twitter page, which gives a variety of facts and stats about the ABB Formula E Championship.