Twitter Facebook Youtube

Paris E-Prix Facts and Figures

Eight races. Eight winners. Will the streak ever end? In Paris we did not just have the first Formula E race with rain, but a race with hail.

For the third time in the last four races we had a driver claim their first win, with Robin Frijns coming out on top in the difficult conditions. Envision Virgin Racing have also become the first team to claim two victories this season. We now take a look at the facts and figures behind the days racing in Paris.

Race facts

  • – Oliver Rowland is the eighth different driver that Sebastien Buemi has shared the front row with, no other driver has shared the front row with more than eight different drivers.
  • – For the second race in a row Pascal Wehrlein finished in tenth place. This means that in every Formula E season there has been at least one occasion where a Mahindra driver has finished in the same position in consecutive races. They are the only team to have had this happen in every season.
  • – Even though Frijns picked up the Fastest Lap point that gave him an outright lead in the championship, he was only the sixth fastest driver in terms of Fastest Laps. This is due to the five faster drivers, Tom Dillmann, Mitch Evans, Sebastien Buemi, Oliver Rowland and Stoffel Vandoorne, all finishing outside of the top ten. This is the first time a driver has been this low and still scored the point, the previous lowest was when Felix Rosenqvist set the fifth fastest lap in the second Hong Kong E-Prix last season.
  • – For the third time this season Sam Bird just missed out on points by finishing in 11th place. Only da Costa has had more 11th places in a single season, having finished four times in 11th in Season 4.
  • – For the last four races the gap at the top of Driver’s Championship has been exactly one point, even though four different drivers have led the championship in that time. For the first time in Formula E history, the gap at the top of the Team’s Championship has stayed the same, with DS Techeetah keeping a seven-point lead.

Overall Position changes

After both Mahindra drivers were sent to the back of the grid for being under the minimum tyre pressures in qualifying, the team had a lot of work to do to keep in championship contention. However, Pascal Wehrlein fought his way through the field in tricky conditions to finish tenth, meaning this is the first season where one team has gained ten or more places in four races. Wehrlein’s teammate Jerome d’Ambrosio has previously gained ten or more positions in Santiago, Mexico City and Rome.

After starting in NIO’s best grid positions this season, ninth, Tom Dillmann was running as high as eighth, and on course for his first points of the season before he hit the wall and was the first retiree in the race. The French driver finishing thirteen places below where he started.

After starting in the front row, Sebastien Buemi was leading the race before contact with Robin Frijns led to a puncture and a forced pit stop for the Swiss driver and an eventual 15th place finish. This is the fourth race this season where Buemi has failed to finish in the top ten, equalling his most races outside the top ten from Season 3.

The Fastest Qualifier

For the first time since the Long Beach and Paris E-Prixs of Season 2, Jean-Eric Vergne has been out qualified in consecutive race. We now take a look at which drivers with the most races have outqualified their teammates more often than not.

Both Vergne and Felix Rosenqvist have the best qualifying records, having outqualified their respective teammates 76% of the time. Vergne has also outqualified his teammates a total of 39 times, a Formula E record.

Unsurprisingly, with Nico Prost having been teammates with the driver with the most pole positions, Sebastien Buemi, Prost has been outqualified more often than any other driver with 20 or more E-Prixs.

Five different drivers have managed to outqualify their respective teammates for ten or more races in a row. Both Buemi and Vergne have achieved a 13-race streak, Lucas di Grassi a 12-race streak and both Nelson Piquet and Antonio Felix da Costa have achieved a ten-race streak.

Currently the best current streak on the grid is by Robin Frijns (against Sam Bird) and da Costa (against Alexander Sims) who have both outqualified their teammates in the last three races.

Only three drivers have never been outqualified by their teammates; Oriol Servia (four races), Rene Rast (one race) and Takuma Sato (one race). There is a total of 15 drivers who have never managed to outqualify their teammates, including Ma Qing Hua who has taken part in nine E-Prixs, and never beaten his teammate in qualifying.

1000 in the Lead

After leading ten laps in Paris, Sebastien Buemi became the first Formula E driver to have led over 1000 kilometres.

Four drivers (Buemi, Lucas di Grassi, Jean-Eric Vergne and Sam Bird) have all managed to lead at least one lap in every season, with Daniel Abt joining this group if he can lead a lap in the remaining five races this season.

Vergne holds the record for having led the most distance in a season, having led over 414 kilometres during Season 4, which is more than a third of the whole season.

A total of 24 drivers from 12 nations and 12 teams have led a lap during the 53 Formula E races. Seasons 1, 2 and 4 each saw 13 drivers lead a lap, where Season 3 only saw 12 drivers lead a lap, and so far, this season 11 drivers have led a lap.

With the 22 laps that Robin Frijns led in Paris, Envision Virgin Racing have become the fifth Formula E team to have led over 500 kilometres.

About Tom Bryan
Tom is a data analyst, who runs the @FormulaEStats twitter page, which gives a variety of facts and stats about the ABB Formula E Championship.