Twitter Facebook Youtube

Berlin E-Prix Facts and Figures

For the sixth time in six races in Berlin, Lucas di Grassi stood on the podium (albeit he was later disqualified in Season 1). The Brazilian has made the German capital his stomping ground after claiming his tenth win in Formula E and becoming only the second driver after Sebastien Buemi to reach double figures. We now take a look at the facts and figures behind the days racing in Berlin.

Race facts

  • – With Stoffel Vandoorne beating Sebastien Buemi in Qualifying Groups by 0.006 seconds, this was the closest Formula E session since Super Pole in Race 1 of the Season 3 Berlin E-Prix where Jose Maria Lopez topped the session by 0.001 seconds. The session was also the closest Qualifying Groups since the Season 1 Long Beach E-Prix, when Daniel Abt claimed his first Formula E pole by 0.007 seconds.
  • – As well as Lucas di Grassi setting his second fastest lap of the season, his Audi teammate Daniel Abt set the second fastest lap of the race. Audi now become the first team to have set the two fastest laps of a race on two occasions (after Rome Season 4). Of the five E-Prixs where one teams have set the two fastest laps, four of them have come since the start of Season 4.
  • – The Berlin E-Prix saw the 30th Full Course Yellow since the rule’s introduction in Season 2. Each season has seen an increase in the number of Full Course Yellows, with Season 2 only seeing four, Season 3 having five, Season 4 having seven Full Course Yellows and this season having 14. This is the first occasion where there has been either a Safety Car of Full Course Yellow in the five races at Tempelhof Airport.
  • – Battery issue hampered Andre Lotterer’s charge through the field and forced him to retire on Lap 29. As a result, no driver has managed to complete every lap this season. Season 5 has also become the first season since Season 1 to see no driver complete every lap, with Stephane Sarrazin going full distance in Season 2, Robin Frijns in Season 3 and Sam Bird and Jean-Eric Vergne completing every lap last season.

Overall Position changes

After having a poor qualifying, Robin Frijns started the Berlin E-Prix in last place. The Dutch driver worked his way through the field and finished in 13th place, making him the biggest mover in the race, for the second time this season.

For the first race since the season opener, no driver managed to gain ten or more places, ending a record eight race streak.

For the first time since he joined Mahindra at the start of the season, Jerome d’Ambrosio finished below where he started, having finished in 17th from ninth (his first top ten start since Sanya). This means that Mitch Evans currently has the longest streak of races where he has finished above where he started (eight).

After starting in fifth place, his best start since last season’s Punta del Este E-Prix, Alex Lynn was running as high as third before a mechanical issue forced him to retire. Lynn has become the seventh driver this season to have started in the top five but retire in the race, a record for a single season.

Scored in 50 Races

Sam Bird claimed his first points finish in six races in Berlin and as a result Envision Virgin Racing became the first Formula E team to have scored in 50 races.

Over the first four seasons, only Envision Virgin Racing and Renault e.dams were the only teams to have scored in at least ten races in each season. Virgin could keep the streak going this season if they score in each of the remaining three races this season.

Season 5 is the first season where no team will have scored in every race. Back in Season 2, four teams (Virgin, Audi, Renault and Venturi) scored points in every race. Mahindra (Season 4) and DS Techeetah (Season 4) are the other teams to have scored in every race in at least one season.

Renault e.dams hold the record for the most consecutive races scored in, having scored in all of the 38 races from Beijing Season 1 to Mexico City Season 4. The following race, the Season 4 Punta del Este E-Prix is the only race in their four-season existence that Renault failed to score, after Sebastien Buemi retired and Nico Prost finished 15th.

The current best scoring streak is held by Nissan e.dams, DS Techeetah and Mahindra, who have all scored in the last five races.

Race Days with a Session Topped

After not topping a session in Berlin, Oliver Rowland ended a six-race streak where he had topped at least one session. We now take a look at some of the drivers to have topped sessions in the most race days.

Even though this is only his first full season in Formula E, Oliver Rowland has become only the second driver to top a session in six consecutive race days. The other driver is his current Nissan e.dams teammate, Sebastien Buemi who went a total of 23 race days topping at least one session (Monaco Season 1 to Berlin Race 2 Season 3).

Buemi is the only driver to have topped a session during every race day in a season, having gone through all of Season 2 without not topping a session.

The record for the longest wait between topping a session is held by Antonio Felix da Costa, who went 41 races between Season 1’s Buenos Aires E-Prix and this season’s opener in Ad Diriyah without topping a session.

A total 27 drivers have topped a session over the last five years, and every team to have been in Formula E has topped at least one session. Season 5 has seen a record 15 drivers, from 10 different top a session. NIO is the only team to have not finished first in a session this year.

So far, no driver has managed the clean sweep of topping every session in a day. However, five drivers (Bird, Buemi, Prost, di Grassi and da Costa) have gone a race day topping all bar one session.

About Tom Bryan
Tom is a data analyst, who runs the @FormulaEStats twitter page, which gives a variety of facts and stats about the ABB Formula E Championship.