Twitter Facebook Youtube

Lotterer and di Grassi form part of Extreme E’s driver programme

The Drivers’ Programme include talents from Formula E, W Series and the FIA World Rally Championship among others.

Extreme E has revealed its Driver’ Programme featuring an impressive roster of world-class talents expressing their interest in joining the championship which will see teams racing against each other in fully-electric SUVs in far-flung locations across the globe.

Formula E drivers Lucas di Grassi and Andre Lotterer are among the list of names in the programme. Meanwhile, FIA World Rally Championship title-winner Sébastian Ogier, FIA World Rallycross front-runners Andreas Bakkerud and Kevin and Timmy Hansen, double DTM champion and FIA World Rallycross driver Timo Scheider, W Series winner Jamie Chadwick, and leading female racers Katherine Legge and Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky as well as Sacha Prost are also part of the list.

Founder of Extreme E, Alejandro Agag said in a statement, “This world-class list of drivers, representing the very best male and female talent from multiple disciplines across top-tier motorsport, illustrates Extreme E’s serious sporting credentials.” 

The Drivers’ Programme is designed to promote professional drivers and assist teams and prospective entries. At the moment, Venturi, ABT and HWA have already signed up to the championship.

Series organisers will then be allowed to recommend prospective competitors from its Drivers’ Programme to teams, however, if teams prefer, they will have the autonomy to select their own drivers from outside the pool.

Testing is expected to begin in mid next year while the inaugural race is set to kick-off in Greenland in February 2021.

Photo: Extreme E

About Noor Amylia Hilda
Noor Amylia Hilda is a journalist based in Kuala Lumpur with bylines in titles such as Women's Health, Esquire and ELLE. She is also a freelance motorsport journalist covering the FIA Formula E championship and Formula 1.