Twitter Facebook Youtube

Berlin E-Prix Facts and Figures

Season 6 is over, and after six races in the space of nine days DS Techeetah’s Antonio Felix da Costa took his first ABB Formula E title. Da Costa became only the second Formula E driver to have won three consecutive races, after having won the first two races in Berlin, along with the previous race in Marrakesh. We now take a look at the facts and figures behind the racing in Berlin.

Race facts

– Antonio Felix da Costa showed his dominance in Berlin. The Season 6 champion topped eight sessions throughout the six races in Berlin. During his previous 59 Formula E race the Portuguese driver had only topped nine sessions

– Jerome d’Ambrosio finished in 18th in Race 6 in Berlin. The Mahindra driver has now finished in every position from 1st to 19th in Formula E, being the only driver to have been classified in 19 different positions

– The six races in Berlin totalled 218 laps and 12 drivers managed to complete all 218 laps. Mahindra Racing were the only team to have both of their drivers complete every lap

– Lucas di Grassi has now completed 2,500 racing laps in Formula E, becoming the first driver to reach the milestone

– Ten drivers recorded a Fastest Lap in Season 6, which is the most for a single season. Da Costa was the only driver to have claimed two Fastest Laps in the season (in Diriyah Race 2 and Berlin Race 1)

Position Change on Lap 1

On four occasions in Berlin did a driver gain four or more places on Lap 1. Two of them were from Season 3 champion, Lucas di Grassi, who gained four places on the opening lap in Race 1 and Race 5.

After starting 21st in Race 5, Antonio Felix da Costa was 16th by the end of Lap 1, becoming the first driver to have gained five places on Lap 1 since Oliver Rowland in Santiago earlier in the season.

James Calado became only the fifth driver to gain places on Lap 1 in six consecutive races, a streak which started at this season’s Mexico City E-Prix, and ended at Calado’s last race of the season, Race 4 in Berlin.

Over the course of the whole season, di Grassi had the largest net gain (+15) and Daniel Abt had the largest net loss (-14).

Overall Position Change

Over the course of the six races in Berlin, seven drivers managed to gain ten or more places in a single E-Prix. Jaguar’s Mitch Evans gained at least ten places in both the third and sixth race in Berlin. Evans has now equalled Lucas di Grassi’s record of having gained ten or more places in nine E-Prixs.

For the first time since Race 2 of the Season 4 Hong Kong E-Prix Sebastien Buemi gained ten places in a race.

Lucas di Grassi gained places from his starting position in all 11 Season 6 races, equalling his own record of consecutive races with positions gained.

Alexander Sims and Andre Lotterer were the other two drivers who managed to gain places from their starting position in all six races, which is especially impressive given that they had only done this once each in the opening five races of the season.

Venturi’s exiting driver Felipe Massa is only the third Formula E driver (after Evans and Buemi) to have lost places in six consecutive races.

Over the course of the entire season, di Grassi gained a total of 69 places during the 11 races (the most of any driver) and Massa lost a net 39 places (the largest loss of any driver).

Qualifying Comparison

Venturi (Massa 0.014 seconds faster than Mortara)
Porsche (Lotterer 0.041 seconds faster than Jani)
Techeetah (da Costa 0.066 seconds faster than Vergne)
Dragon (Muller 0.083 seconds faster than Sette Camara)
BMW (Gunther 0.096 seconds faster than Sims)
Mahindra (Lynn 0.143 seconds faster than d'Ambrosio)
Mercedes (de Vries 0.171 seconds faster than Vandoorne)
Audi (di Grassi 0.221 seconds faster than Rast)
Virgin (Frijns 0.245 seconds faster than Bird)
NIO (Turvey 0.306 seconds faster than Abt)
Jaguar (Blomqivist 0.330 seconds faster than Evans)
Nissan (Buemi 0.339 seconds faster than Rowland)
Jaguar (Evans 0.888 seconds faster than Calado)

Over the course of the six qualifying sessions in Berlin, the Venturi teammates were the closest matched teammates, with Felipe Massa just 0.014 seconds quicker than Edoardo Mortara

Robin Frijns and Oliver Turvey were the only two drivers to outqualify their teammates 5-1 in Berlin. Coming into Berlin, Frijns had been outqualified by Sam Bird in nine of the previous ten races.

Sebastien Buemi had an average qualifying position over the course of the season of 7.55 (which is his worst average of any of his seasons). However, he still had the best qualifying average of all full season drivers. Only Alex Lynn (an average of 6.5 in six races) had a better average.

Over the course of the whole season, Mercedes had the closest teammates in qualifying. Nyck de Vries’ average qualifying time was just 0.030 quicker than Stoffel Vandoorne’s.

Turvey was the only driver to have outqualified their teammate 9-2 through the season, having beating Ma Qing Hua 4-1 in the opening five races.

Points Scored in Berlin

Of the 23 drivers to have competed in all six races in Berlin, no driver managed to score points in all six races. Antonio Felix da Costa, Sebastien Buemi, Andre Lotterer and Lucas di Grassi all scored point in five races.

Mitch Evans was the only driver to pick up all of his teams’ points, scoring 15 points compared to James Calado’s and Tom Blomqvist’s zero.

Of the 12 teams Techeetah were the highest scoring team with 146 points, with Nissan e.dams being the only other team to surpass 100 points (110).

Nissan e.dams and Audi were the only teams to score points in all six races.

19 drivers and ten teams scored points, with Dragon and NIO being the only teams not to score points. The latter being the first Formula E team to go through an entire season and not score.



Picture source: FIA Formula E Media

About Tom Bryan
Tom is a data analyst, who runs the @FormulaEStats twitter page, which gives a variety of facts and stats about the ABB Formula E Championship.