Twitter Facebook Youtube

Teams restricted to two driver changes for season two

Formula E teams will be limited to a lower number of driver changes for the second season of competition, with new rules allowing a maximum of two changes, or three drivers, per car.

Last season saw no fewer than 35 drivers at the wheel, with Andretti Autosport fielding a total of eight drivers, six of those being in the #28 car. Only four teams kept the same driver line up throughout the entire championship.

In order to bring consistency to the driver line up, no more than two driver changes per car will be permitted, with no changes allowed for the final three events of the championship as this will eradicate any possible conflicts as far as the championship is concerned.

It is also a new requirement that any potential driver changes must be announced two weeks prior to the race in which the change is due to happen.

If a team uses both of their driver changes and another driver is required, in the event of injury or any other reason, an extra driver change will be granted at the discretion of the stewards.

Article by Topher Smith
Photo credit: FIA Formula E Media

About Topher Smith
Topher is an experienced and passionate Motorsport journalist with Formula E, Formula 1, GP2/F2, GP3 and IndyCar all on his resume. When he isn't at the trackside you can find him furthering his own capabilities and knowledge through his endless search for original ideas and material. Also plays league pool.