Twitter Facebook Youtube

Buemi completes Monaco clean sweep with victory


It was a close battle from start to finish for championship contenders Sebastian Buemi and Lucas di Grassi at the Monaco ePrix as both drivers battled on the iconic track, with the championship leader holding off his rival until the very end.

Buemi started in pole position and held his lead throughout to stand on the top step of the podium, securing his fourth win of the season and ensuring he came out on top in every session.

Mahindra’s Nick Heidfeld came home in third, winning his second podium of the season and also crowned as the first ever driver to score a podium in the Principality in both Formula E and Formula 1.

The tight corners of the Monaco ePrix track provided caused plenty of unwanted contact throughout the race.

Jose Maria Lopez of DS Virgin was one of the first drivers to encounter problems when he suffered damage to his rear wing at lap one, putting him down the grid and out of the race. Meanwhile, Venturi’s Stephane Sarrazin got off to a slow start on the grid when he encountered problems with his car.

Another incident involving Sam Bird saw the DS Virgin driver hit a wall early in the race, forcing the Englishman to pit and retire from the race.

A clash between Techeetah’s Vergne and NextEV’s Nelson Piquet Jr at turn three on lap 22 caused the safety car to be deployed. The duo came together and locked wheels, causing Vergne to hit the wall where he retired. Piquet Jr, however, managed to get away from the crash and passed through, ultimately coming home in fourth place.

Most of the teams took advantage of the safety car incident to pit and change cars.

Jerome d’Ambrosio of Faraday Future Dragon Racing encountered trouble on lap 29 and was out of the race, also causing a yellow flag towards the second half of the race.

Antonio Felix da Costa finished P9 and Renault e.Dams driver Nico Prost finished P10 within the points finish.

Daniel Abt came in P7 ahead of Esteban Gutierrez ay P8 scoring points in his second race in a row. While Jaguar’s Mitch Evans finished P11 and Adam Carroll at P14, didn’t manage to score points for the British team after a strong weekend at the previous ePrix in Mexico City.


Noor Amylia Hilda |
Additional reporting by Topher Smith


Image courtesy of Rajan Jangda


About Topher Smith
Topher is an experienced and passionate Motorsport journalist with Formula E, Formula 1, GP2/F2, GP3 and IndyCar all on his resume. When he isn't at the trackside you can find him furthering his own capabilities and knowledge through his endless search for original ideas and material. Also plays league pool.