Twitter Facebook Youtube

Mexico City E-Prix Facts and Figures

The ABB Formula E Championship returned to Mexico City for the third time, becoming only the third city to host a race in three seasons. The race saw a lot of excitement and tension, but in the end Daniel Abt claimed his first Formula E victory and became the tenth driver to win in the series. We now take a look at the facts and figures behind the days racing in Mexico City.

Race facts

  • Daniel Abt took his first victory and the first for a German driver in Formula E. As a result, every driver that has competed in all 38 ePrixs has now won a race.
  • After a dreadful start to Season 4, Lucas di Grassi managed to come away from Mexico City with three points, meaning every driver to have competed in all five races this season have now scored points.
  • Season 1 champion Nelson Piquet led lap 25 during the pit stops, so Panasonic Jaguar Racing led their first lap in Formula E, meaning every current Formula E team has now led a lap in the series.
  • The fastest lap of the day was set by Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler driver Lucas di Grassi, who posted a 1:01.158 in Practice One, which beat the previous track record set by Sebastien Buemi last season of a 1:02.164.

Opening lap - Position changes

Panasonic Jaguar Racing driver Mitch Evans, for the second race in a row, gained the most positions on Lap 1, passing three drivers and moving into the top ten. Increasing Evans’ season tally for Lap 1 positions to ten, the most of any driver season.

After having an issue off the line Venturi driver Maro Engel dropped from 11th to 20th by Turn 1 and crossed the line at the end of the lap in 19th, losing a total of eight places on the first lap.

For the first time since the Punta del Este Season 2 ePrix, Andretti driver Antonio Felix da Costa lost a position on the first lap going from fourth on the grid to fifth by the end of Lap One.

Overall Position changes

After the second consecutive race with a ten place grid penalty for an inverter change, Lucas di Grassi started the ePrix from the back of the grid and he had a lot of work to do to score his first points of the season. A charge though the field, yielded a ninth place finish for di Grassi and a total of 11 places gained.

As a result of both Mahindras stopping on track during the race and later retiring, they both lost the most positions with Heidfeld and Rosenqvist losing 12 and 18 places respectively.

Fastest laps

Lucas di Grassi (1:02.202 - Lap 27)

Nelson Piquet (1:02.709 - Lap 32)

Mitch Evans (1:02.907 - Lap 26)

Nicolas Prost (1:03.013 - Lap 27)

Maro Engel (1:03.017 - Lap 27)

Antonio Felix da Costa (1:03.043 - Lap 27)

Sebastien Buemi (1:03.108 - Lap 31)

Oliver Turvey (1:03.122 - Lap 31)

Jerome d'Ambrosio (1:03.131 - Lap 25)

Daniel Abt (1:03.154 - Lap 31)

Jose Maria Lopez (1:03.162 - Lap 25)

Andre Lotterer (1:03.174 - Lap 28)

Jean-Eric Vergne (1:03.284 - Lap 30)

Tom Blomqvist (1:03.298 - Lap 33)

Luca Filippi (1:03.328 - Lap 29)

Edoardo Mortara (1:03.330 - Lap 27)

Felix Rosenqvist (1:03.501 - Lap 12)

Alex Lynn (1:03.793 - Lap 30)

Sam Bird (1:03.907 - Lap 29)

Nick Heidfeld (1:03.961 - Lap 11)

Lucas di Grassi claimed fastest lap in Mexico City, becoming the first driver to claim two fastest laps this season. However, his first in the second race in Hong Kong did not yield him any points as he finished outside of the top ten.

In what is becoming an increasing trend 18 of the 20 drivers set their fastest in their second cars, with only the two Mahindra drivers, who both had car issues and stopped on track, setting their fastest lap in the first half of the race.

Race to 500 points

With Sebastien Buemi claiming third place in Mexico City and the 15 points that came with it, the Swiss driver became the first racer in Formula E to pass 500 points.

Coming into Season 4, the Season 2 champion sat on 455 points, whereas the reigning champion, Lucas di Grassi sat on 467 points. However with the Brazilian failing to score in the first four races of this season the Renault e.Dams driver was able to capitalise on this is and become the first driver to pass the 500 points mark.

Over the first season in Formula E, a few drivers were able to close to di Grassi and Buemi in terms of points scored, with Buemi’s team mate, Nico Prost, holding the lead of the championship after the Season 1 Miami ePrix, and Nelson Piquet being the highest scoring driver until the end of Season 1, but since then no other drivers have come close to the consistency of scoring that both di Grassi and Buemi have shown over the last two and a half seasons.

About Tom Bryan
Tom is a mathematics university student, who runs the @FormulaEStats twitter page, which gives a variety of facts and stats about the ABB Formula E Championship.