Twitter Facebook Youtube

Buemi loses win as both Toyotas disqualified

Toyota Gazoo Racing has been stripped of its 1-2 finish at the 6 Hours of Silverstone after failing post-race scrutineering, depriving Formula E season two champion Sebastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and Fernando Alonso of a third straight victory of the season.

The #7, driven by Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Jose Maria Lopez of Dragon Racing, and the winning #8 had taken a third successive 1-2 finish in as many races before being excluded as a result of failing their skid block deflection tests.

The decision by the stewards hands victory to the #3 Rebellion Racing of Thomas Laurent, Gustavo Menezes and Mathias Beche who had finished four laps down on the leading Toyota, while the #1 Rebellion of Neel Jani and Techeetah’s Andre Lotterer inherited second, giving the Swiss team a 1-2 finish.

The #17 SMP Racing of Egor Orudzhev and MS&AD Andretti’s Stephane Sarrazin move up into the third and final spot on the podium.

About Topher Smith
Topher is an experienced and passionate Motorsport journalist with Formula E, Formula 1, GP2/F2, GP3 and IndyCar all on his resume. When he isn't at the trackside you can find him furthering his own capabilities and knowledge through his endless search for original ideas and material. Also plays league pool.