Twitter Facebook Youtube

Formula E to get new ‘Super Pole’ qualifying format

Qualifying sessions will take on a new twist in season two of the Formula E championship, following the announcement of a new ‘Super Pole’ format.

Just like the inaugural season, each of the 20 drivers will be split between four qualifying groups. However, whereas last season each session lasted 15 minutes, drivers will now only have a mere six minutes to set as fast a lap as they can, with the five fastest drivers from the four sessions then going head-to-head in a one-by-one shoot-out for the ‘Super Pole’.

In the final shoot-out, the fifth fastest driver from the four groups will go out first, with the next driver released onto the track once the previous driver has started their flying lap. The final order in the ‘Super Pole’ session will determine the top five on the grid, with the rest of the grid set by the times from the group stages.

“Pushing the car to the limit and brushing against the walls around a street circuit in qualifying is a real spectacle and one of the highlights of a Formula E event,” said Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag. “With this new qualifying format it will ensure the battle for pole position will go down to the wire – as the name suggests it’s ‘super’!”

The new qualifying format is subject to ratification by the FIA World Motor Sport Council.

Article by Topher Smith
Photo credit: FIA Formula E Media

About Topher Smith
Topher is an experienced and passionate Motorsport journalist with Formula E, Formula 1, GP2/F2, GP3 and IndyCar all on his resume. When he isn't at the trackside you can find him furthering his own capabilities and knowledge through his endless search for original ideas and material. Also plays league pool.